Doug Harvey on Paul McCarthy

January 11, 2009 at 6:03 PM Leave a comment

Doug Harvey has written an insightful article on Paul McCarthy that gave me a few chuckles like this funny story about McCarthy’s fully functioning “Chocolate Santa with Butt Plug” factory that produced 1,000 $100 gift boxes a day in New York’s Maccarone Gallery a little more than a year ago.

“I did the whole thing in two months,”… After refitting the gallery so that it passed the Board of Health, he made the mold, found a chocolatier, set up a company, and found people who “knew how to make this stuff.” Then, he says, “I hired an ad agency and put ads in Vanity Fair and other magazines.” McCarthy laughs. “It looked like success, but I always thought it would be a company that would fail financially — and it did. There was this thing in Artforum about how much money I was going to make and how I had sold out. They calculated that I was going to sell 30,000.” He ended up selling around 1,600. “I have about 12,000 in storage, packed in shredded Artforums… I own the whole chocolate factory — the equipment, the molds. I think next year I’ll start it up again. Ultimately, I’d like to buy a house in LA and paint it red and green and run the factory for 10 years…”

The article “Santa’s Little Helper” originally appeared in the December 2008 / January 2009 issue of Modern Painters and is now up on the Art Info website.  Read the whole story here.

Entry filed under: Art Blogosphere. Tags: , , .

Give it a Whirl – Saturday, January 10, 2009 Art Market Plunge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Follow me on twitter

Feeds

Recent tweets

RSS Calendar

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

